

Timeline

January

- Teacher of the Year Program launch and announcement of Selection Committee members at Board meeting
- Nomination forms sent electronically to community partners and sites in addition to internal distribution of paper copies

Timeline (cont.)

February

- Nomination forms due
- Qualified nominees notified and those who chose to move forward submitted an application consisting of a résumé, a letter of introduction, and three (3) letters of support

Timeline (cont.)

March

- Selection Committee met to review applications
- Finalists selected and notified
- Classroom observations by Selection Committee members

Timeline (cont.)

<u>April</u>

- Interviews of Finalists
- Surprise site visit to Alameda Teacher of the Year

<u>May</u>

Teacher of the Year and Finalists formally introduced at Board meeting

Next Steps

 Teacher of the Year to complete Alameda County Office of Education's (ACOE)
Teacher of the Year application

 Alameda Unified's Teacher of the Year honored by ACOE in October

Finalist Rebecca Baumgartner

Lincoln Middle School

Finalist

Tyra Cable

Lincoln Middle School

Finalist

Pauline Stahl

Encinal Jr/Sr High School

Teacher of the Year

Mary Otieku

Bay Farm School

2018 ToY Selection Committee

- Amanda Cline, 2016 Teacher of the Year
- Ardella Dailey, Ed.D., Board Member
- John Dalton, 2015 Teacher of the Year
- Kevin Gorham, 2017 Teacher of the Year
- Judith Klinger, AEA President
- Drew Sarratore, Principal, Paden Elementary
- Page Tomblin, PTA Council President
- Sandy Wong, Coordinator, HR